Saturday, March 21, 2015

July 20, 2001 Q&A

Can’t believe that in a week I’ll be returning home...time has certainly flew by and yes, I've had a lot of fun. Here’s the last misc. email from Sapporo on some of your questions...

Bathroom facilities:
My, this has been a topic of conversation! Yes, the one on the web page is the traditional Eastern style john known as the `squatter` because you do just that. However, businesses and homes that have the Western style john are more upscale than us...they have seat warmers, multiple spray functions for the bidet (be careful about those...one of the US teachers was soaked to the skin after a trip to the bathroom!), and privacy noisemakers (sound of toilet flushing while you use the facilities for privacy). Some bathrooms, like those in the Narita airport in Tokyo, have buttons to push to open the bathroom door - you step in, the lights come on, soothing music can play...quite the experience after a 14 hour plane flight!

Traditional Eastern styles are found in most public places (like parks, sightseeing stops, etc.) and they tend not to provide paper products...you are expected to have your own Kleenex, etc. (although they hand them out at every street corner with advertisements for restaurants, political figures, and wanted criminals) so I think they’re defeating the purpose. Most hotels and some businesses do have at least one Western style. As I said earlier, I can’t imagine being 9 months pregnant and having to use the Eastern style, or having a broken leg!

Shopping:
Another hot topic...pricing for items amazes me. I’ve seen nice slacks and shirts for 1500-2000 yen, yet underwear for 6,000 and above. Sizes are considerably smaller than ours (for obvious reasons) so it’s hard to find something to fit if you’re not a size 9 or smaller. Department stores (which carry everything, including food) have floors with designer clothes (Donna Karon is one I’ve seen) and the young people seem to be looking for labels to buy. The only time many of them can wear `clothes` is on Sunday because so many kids have to wear uniforms (JH is required, most HS also). Some of them have t-shirts with some pretty offensive language printed on them, and I don’t think they have a clue as to what it means...it’s just in English so they want it.

Sunday seems to be the busiest time to go shopping, probably because most people work 6 days a week. Department stores close one day during the week rather than stay open 7 days a week, although there is a movement to change that to the US style.

Biggest surprise to me while here:
One of the biggest surprises was the cleanliness of the big cities...trash is never on the ground, no one throws anything on the street, there aren’t many trash cans (people just put it in their bag and keep going), yet everything is well maintained.

Second is probably how people welcome US travelers. Even the waitress at the Italian restaurant was sad to see me go (and nearly cried when I gave her an Oklahoma pin). I know that part of that is the fact that I am on this island and in Sapporo, but it sure is great to be treated so nicely!

Third is the respect that teachers get and the number of male teachers. EVERYONE honors a sensei (teacher), I guess because it is very difficult to get a teaching certificate. There can be drawbacks, however. Teachers who drink and drive, and are caught, lose their license and may never teach again. Speeding tickets could cost you your job. The pay, while about the same as hours, goes much further over here than ours does...they get about 200,000 yen a month (about $1600 US $), so it is a pretty good paying, and consistent, job for men and women to have.


What’s been the hardest thing about being here?
Hmmm, adjusting to the food would have to be first. If you liked fish or was a vegetarian, you’d probably survive. I’m glad the school lunches are over! Don`t think I could handle any more rice or small fish!

Next would be the lack of US news.... but that is more with the Guest House than anything else. At the Guest House, I don’t have access to the channels that carry US comedies and dramas or news...I only get the Japanese saying what is showing on the screen from CNN Headline News, so sometimes it is hard to figure out. When I have time, I check through Internet enough to know some things.

Then I would say it would be the adjustment to them speaking in Japanese, and you know it is in regards to you, and you don’t understand. Some people have a real problem with that...me, I just figure they’ll tell me what they want me to know and if they don’t I’m better off not knowing.

How do the Japanese feel about the US?
They seem to admire us a great deal...our freedom, our independence, our apparent success personally and professionally. Many Japanese say that they are 5 years behind the US, and want to catch up. I keep reminding them that that allows them to fix our blunders, which are many, and that I hoped they take advantage of that (gangs, child abuse, drugs, etc.) because I’ve seen signs of that starting here.

Some want to be as technology based as the US - they aren’t here. They have the computers, they either don’t know how to use them or they are not set up on a network. I think the Superintendent of Sapporo schools has some big plans along that line, which will be interesting to see how they work out.

The kids are dying to know what life is like in the US for their age groups. I can’t tell you the number of questions I’ve been asked about things such as music, sports, clothing styles, television, etc. Oliver is going to put together a video to send to them, and they can’t wait to see it!  You are starting to see kids with dyed hair, contacts with different colors than brown, and t-shirts with inappropriate words on them but I think they are popular simply because they are in English.

Transportation in subways, trains, etc. 
Other than the one experience of being like packed tuna, the subway is the way to go! Wish we had something like that in our area.... doesn’t have to be below ground either - some of Sapporo’s are above ground due to building construction. Very common to see people either on subways, buses, or trains every day, and taxis ready to pick you up if needed.

Taxi’s are interesting also...the driver opens the door for you from the inside, you get in, he closes the door with his button. Tell him where you are going, he gets you there, he shows you the fare, you pay, he opens the door, you get out, and it shuts and he’s off on another run. Little conversation, no complaining. Drivers wear white gloves and hats, taxi’s are spotless, they do drive a little interestingly (more on driving to come) but not a bad way to travel either.


Driving:
They do drive on the left side of the road, and red does not necessarily mean stop. The first time we ran a red light, I just knew someone or something would plow into us...but most drivers hesitate at the light to make sure no one is driving through. Little scary until you get used to it...now I fear what I will do when I return home!

And it is a good thing they have small cars.... if you park on the side of the road, you could block a lane of traffic, so to get around everyone has to scrunch together. There have been times I could have reached out the window and into the car next to me and played with their radio buttons...and I’m being serious. You will see cars with paint rubbed due to being close to someone in situations such as this. Roads are narrower as well.

Have seen a few Cadillac’s, older models, but that is usually associated with the bad element of town (like pimp cars). A few land cruisers or GMC ATV`s are here, but didn’t notice them in Tokyo. Lots of Nissan’s and a few Toyota’s. No pickups!


Prices:
Since the US $ took an upswing, the prices have been cheaper than what you could buy things in the US - and the pricing of items is interesting. What you would think wouldn’t cost a great deal, does...and what should cost a lot, doesn’t necessarily. Sometimes hard to figure out the logic.

Well, I think that about covers the last minute questions. I’ll be checking email in Tokyo, but won’t be putting up any more web pages since I’ll have to pay for time from there.

Yoshi called earlier and plans have changed yet again...going to her house tonight instead of Ms. Yamada`s. Not sure what is up but I do so enjoy her husband and Yoshi is just great.

I know I’ll probably regret it, but I think I’ll skip the trip to Kyoto on Sunday. I think they have kept me busier than some of the others (weekend work, sightseeing hasn’t happened in other towns) and I’m a little tired. And since I start back to work a week from Monday I think I’ll take the day and relax and wander around Tokyo instead. I’d love to go to Mt. Fuji but they say you can’t see it, even from the base, at this time of the year because of clouds...and after being to Furano I can see that is probably true. The folks here claim that it will be my excuse to return...and they’re probably right! I’d love to come back!

No comments:

Post a Comment